Casualties of War

Despite the iceapocalypse and some seriously cold temperatures, I was able to make a little progress this week on my brake project.  Both new wheel cylinders are installed and the rear brakes are completely reassembled.  The center brake hose is next on the list, and that should wrap up the easy part of this task.

Sadly, I had to say goodbye to my brake spring pliers during this portion of the project, as the center rivet gave way while I was twisting and yanking on one of the return springs while reassembling the passenger-side shoes.  I was able to finish the job with a pair of needle-nose pliers, and I could probably straighten the old pliers in a vice and replace the rivet with a new bolt and nut, but it’s easier (and safer) to just buy a new pair (I need them to disassemble the front brakes).  I wish the old pair well on their way to the smelter to be remade into Ikea cutlery.

Those aren't supposed to be separate.

In case anyone is wondering, this is what I’ve been working on.  As you can see, drum brakes were apparently invented by Rube Goldberg.

Leave a Reply

