As Seen on Craigslist – 1951 Chevy Sedan Delivery

The Professional Car Society’s annual meet was in my area this weekend, and while I did not attend, perhaps it was on my mind when I saw this listing.  I’ve never really wanted to own a hearse or an ambulance, although I see the historical appeal – up until the 1970’s, those duties were usually completed by a modified station wagon, rather than the purpose-built vehicles we think of today.  Being a wagon aficionado, I generally like the style of these cars, especially the utilitarian “sedan delivery” (essentially a windowless, two-door station wagon) featured here.  However, the glossy black paint and unique sculptured rear fenders can’t overcome the tackiness of the tilt front-end and the weird factor of the “accommodations” in the rear.  This might be the right car for somebody, but not me – hopefully for another 60 or so years, anyway.

Leave a Reply

