As Seen on Craigslist – 1964 Pontiac Catalina

It should surprise no one at this point that I am a fan of full-size Pontiac performance cars, so forgive me for indulging myself with this specimen.  Sure, the new paint has a distinct Maaco/Earl Scheib shine to it, but as long as it’s not covering up a ton of Bondo or rust, I’d be OK with it.  This is a surprisingly low-optioned car (bench seats, no A/C, single outside mirror, wheel covers), but that just makes me like it even more.  I’d find a set of steelies and Pontiac dog dishes, fix the brakelights, swap in a four-barrel and a cam, and drive this till the wheels fell off.  I’m not a fan of the hokey arrowheads on the seats, but I could live with that for this price.  And just look at the size of that engine bay!  Even with the big V8, there’s room for your entire family to stand around and help you diagnose the inevitable rear main seal leak!

Leave a Reply

