As Seen on Craigslist – 1961 Oldsmobile Super 88

As Seen On TV Logo copy

Yes, this is your Father’s Oldsmobile.  And I just realized I’m referencing an ad campaign from over 20 years ago f0r a car brand that’s been defunct for a decade.  I’m not sure what that says about me, but I do love the GM “bubbletop” roofline of this era, especially on the less common Buick, Olds, and Pontiac cars.  The car is complete and drives, but I’d want a closer look at the “weak” paint and interior; it’s nice that the car is mechanically sorted, but the real money lies in paint and interior work (which the average hobbyist can’t do alone).  Either way, I think $12,500 is a bit on the high side – NADA values are nice, but that assumes an interested buyer with cash in hand.  I don’t see much call for off-brand non-muscle cars with bad paint and interiors.  Still, for the right price, I’d have no problem driving this one.

61 Super 88

2 responses to “As Seen on Craigslist – 1961 Oldsmobile Super 88

  • DaveP

    That is an Oldsmobile family. Look at the ’54(?) in the background. Thanks for another cool snapshot find. Plus, you turned me on to the Selvege Yard and many other cool blogs. How is the Tempest coming along?

    • themagicboltbox

      Good eye, Dave. I have trouble distinguishing most pre-’55 cars in profile. I’m glad you enjoy this stuff. Unfortunately, the Tempest sits just about where I last left it. My youngest girl has been sick most of the winter – nothing serious, mind you, but enough that she doesn’t sleep well and that has pretty much sapped my late-night wrenching energy. The weather has started to turn here, so I hope to get the carb back together and have the car running in the next few weeks.

Leave a Reply

