As Seen on Craigslist – 1977 Chevrolet Monza Mirage

As Seen On TV Logo copy

While I could entertain the idea that an early first-gen Vega would make a fun project, by the time the 70’s ended, the Vega/Monza platform had had all the style and fun ripped from it.  From the header panel back, you can still see a fun little hatchback with a relatively pretty fastback profile, but that schnoz (which still isn’t big enough to completely hide the 5 MPH bumper) totally kills the car.  I know I’ve heard people say that there’s nothing that box flares can’t make cool, but I think we’ve found the exception – they certainly don’t hurt, but it’s still a couple miles away from cool.

It does have a four-speed and a V8, and it’s just on this side of the arbitrary “cheap enough that you could entertain it” line, and I guess if you grew up in the era and somehow had fond memories of the cars or the IMSA race series you would be snapping this up.  But I’d be so afraid of whatever rabid fanbase the “25-30 still running” cars have that I don’t think I could enjoy owning it.  Not to mention, I don’t have a thick enough gold chain or a satin jacket to wear while driving it.

77 Monza

Leave a Reply

